Mark LaBarbera
Director of Athletics
Kris Sanders
Administrative Assistant for Athletics
John Kuka
Associate Director of Athletics
Erik Weiler
Associate Director of Athletics for Internal Operations
Sarah Pruess
Associate Director of Athletics for Compliance/Senior Woman Administrator
Rin Seibert
Director of Recreational Sports/Associate Director of Athletics
Candy Jessen
Assistant Director of Athletics for Business Services
Melissa Van Dygriff
Assistant Director of Athletics for Student Services
David Kay
General Manager - Valpo Athletics Sponsorships
Erica Fedornock
Athletic Ticket Operations Manager
Ben Boggs
Assistant Director of Annual Giving
Matt Ward
Compliance Coordinator
Lexi Nichols
Assistant Director of Marketing for Athletics
Steve Salceda
Assistant Director of Digital Media for Athletics
Robbie Crimmins
Director of Event Operations
Ron Blatz
Broadcast & Streaming Manager
Renee' Turpa
Group Sales Ticket Coordinator
Merel Nelson
Operations Coordinator
Lissa Yogan
Faculty Athletics Representative
Full List
Matt Ward

Matt Ward

Compliance Coordinator

Phone (219) 464-6913

Matt Ward joined the Valparaiso University staff as the Compliance Coordinator for Athletics in April of 2018.


In his role, Ward assists with the daily responsibilities of the compliance office for all sports and serves as an administrator for the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).


A 2016 graduate of Valparaiso University with a degree in sports management, Ward returned to his alma mater in 2018 after interning in compliance at The Summit League conference office and in governance at the NCAA national office.


A four-year letter winner for the men’s golf team, Ward’s stint as a Valpo student-athlete was highlighted by a Horizon League Championship in 2013 and a GCAA Division I Academic National Championship in 2016. As a student-athlete, Ward served as the SAAC President as a senior, which paved opportunities to serve on Horizon League SAAC and NCAA Division I SAAC. During the 2016-17 academic year, Ward served on the NCAA Division I Legislative Committee representing all student-athletes.