2009 Football Year in Review
Friday, December 18, 2009
2009 Football Year in Review
Tim Bennett was the Offensive Helmet winner. (Ray Acevedo)

1-10 Overall, 0-8 PFL

This Year in Crusader Football: Valparaiso closed out the 2009 football season with a 1-10 record overall and an 0-8 mark in the Pioneer football League. 

On the Air: For the fifth straight season the Valpo Sports Radio Network was home to all 11 Crusader football games in 2009.  The Valpo Sports Radio Network consists of WAKE (1500-AM, Valparaiso) and WE-FM (95.9-FM, Michigan City).  Todd Ickow handled most of the play-by-play with Andy Viano adding the color commentary.

Head Coach Stacy Adams: Stacy Adams completed in his fifth season at the helm of the Crusader football program, taking over the team prior to the 2005 season.  Adams had a 15-40 record both overall and at Valpo.  He was the 15th head coach in Crusader history, and just the sixth since 1946.  Adams stepped down as Crusader head coach on November 29.

Five Earn PFL Honors: The Crusaders had five players earn Honorable Mention All-Pioneer Football League honors in 2009.  On the offensive side of the football, fullback Josh Lynn and offensive lineman Nate Blair received recognition while on the other side defensive lineman Nikko Carson and defensive backs Anthony Curry and Kyle Himmelwright were honored by the league.

Team Awards Announced: Valpo’s team honors were handed out at the annual banquet on December 12.  Tim Bennett was the recipient of the Offensive Helmet while Nicholas Henton was the Offensive Player of the Year.  The Defensive Helmet went to Eli Crawford while Anthony Curry was the Defensive Player of the Year.  Alex Byers was the recipient of the Special Teams Player of the Year while Laurence Treadaway was named the Most Improved Player.

More Team Honors: Adam Rundh received the Richard P. Koenig Award which exemplifies moral character, academic and athletic achievement at Valpo.  Rundh also gave the senior address at the banquet.  Nate Blair earned the Joe Sever Trophy given to a lineman who exemplifies excellent work ethic and high-quality performance.

Thanks Seniors:
Sixteen Crusaders closed their collegiate careers in the season finale against Morehead State.  Those honored prior to kickoff were Ian Altieri, Anthony Curry, Zac Griffin, Nicholas Henton, Kyle Himmelwright, Trevor Jaskiw, James Joos, Luke Kanclerz, Josh Lynn, Mike Miller, John Popper, Marco Porcelli, Adam Rundh, Mitch Secrest, Ross Wiemer, and Dave Wisniewski.

Rundh Earns Academic All-America Honors for the Second Time: Senior defensive lineman Adam Rundh has been named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America First Team,  a year after earning Academic All-America Second Team honors.  He is just the second First Team selection ever by a Crusader (Kevin Knutson, 2004), and the first football player to earn two Academic All-America honors.  Rundh was a three-time First Team Academic All-District V pick as well.

Rundh a Finalist for Sportsmanship Award:
Adam Rundh is one of the 10 finalists for the ARA Sportsmanship Award in 2009.  The award is giving to one outstanding NCAA Division I collegiate football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.  Rundh is one of only two FCS players among the finalist.

Carson PFL Player of the Week:
Defensive lineman Nikko Carson recorded four sacks at Drake on October 3, tied for the most in a single game in the NCAA-FCS this season.  The sophomore earned Pioneer Football League Defensive Player of the Week honors for his work, which included eight total tackles, all of the solo variety. His four sacks also tie the Pioneer Football League’s single game record in that category.

Team Captains: Four players served as team captains for the Brown and Gold this season.  On the offensive side of the football, Matt Upshaw and Dave Wisniewski were voted as team captains while on the defensive end Zac Griffin and Anthony Curry were selected as captains.