Football Announces Team’s Year-End Awards
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Football Announces Team’s Year-End Awards
Laurence Treadaway was the team's Most Valuable Player. (Stacey LaCalamita)

Valparaiso University head football coach Dale Carlson has announced nine individual award winners from the 2011 season based upon their performances throughout the year.

Defensive back Laurence Treadaway (Detroit, Mich./Orchard Lake Saint Mary’s H.S.) was named the team’s Most Valuable Player after finishing second on the team with 81 tackles.  The team co-captain forced three fumbles, intercepted a pass, and broke up six other passing attempts during his fifth-year with the Crusaders.

Gabe Ali-El (Randallstown, Md./Polytechnic Institute) was named the Offensive Player of the Year while Greg Wood (Libertyville, Ill./Libertyville H.S.) was the team’s Special Teams Player of the Year.  Ali-El, a freshman running back, scored four touchdowns, three receiving.  He was the team’s top rusher with 231 total yards while also leading the team with 35 catches for 365 yards.  Wood averaged 42.0 yards per punt and landed 16 kicks inside of the opponent’s 20-yard line.  He also boomed 15 punts of 50 yards or more, including a career-long 76-yarder.

Tanner Kuramata (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif./Claremont H.S.) was named the team’s Offensive Rookie of the Year while Ryan Mundy (Wet Lafayette, Ind./Harrison H.S.) earned Defensive Rookie of the Year honors.  Kuramata, a wide receiver, caught 30 passes for 354 yards and a score during his freshman season while Mundy, a linebacker, made 43 tackles on the year, including 4.5 for loss.

Freshman offensive lineman Nate Koeneman (Dallas, Texas/Lutheran H.S.) earned the team’s Offensive 110% Award while freshman linebacker J.T. Rotroff (Crown Point, Ind./Crown Point H.S.) was named the Defensive 110% Award winner.

The annual Richard P. Koenig Award, which exemplifies moral character, academic, and athletic achievement went to senior offensive lineman Nate Blair (Crete, Ill./Andrean [Ind.] H.S.).  Finally, the Joe Sever Trophy, recognizing not only skill, but the courage, character, attitude, and achievement above and beyond the call of duty, went to senior defensive lineman Grant Bushong (Ionia, Mich./Ionia H.S.).