2010-11 Football
1 Ryan Myers WR
2 Robbie Buss QB
3 David Coneys WR
4 Antonio Lovelace WR
5 Eric Lemon QB
6 Jabril Baker WR
7 Matt Upshaw QB
8 Bobby Wysocki WR
9 Corey Nash WR
10 Quinn Schafer QB
11 Nick Malantis QB
12 Travis Anderson WR
13 Eli Crawford DB
14 Tim Bennett WR
15 Laurence Treadaway DB
16 Josh Keatley RB
17 Nate Goergen QB
18 Matt Heinen LB
19 Eric Hoffman QB
20 Patrick Wenzel LB
21 Alex Byers DB
23 Tyler Evanko DB
24 Taylor Deloye P
26 Kevin Montgomery WR
27 Alan Porter Jr. DB
28 Fred Gladney WR
29 Blake Torres DB
30 Eddie Morelli RB
31 Erik Bradley RB
32 Adrian Gober DB
33 Chris Giehon RB
34 Vince Vetrone RB
35 Cody Gokan LB
36 Kevin Becker TE
37 Jacob Patz DB
38 Wayne Hicks TE
39 Ryan Lehr RB
40 Bryce LaMore DB
41 Chrision Rasberry DB
42 Grant Bushong DL
43 Tony Taibi WR
44 Sean Graves DB
45 Alex Grask DB
46 Alex Soller DB
48 Keith Larson DB
49 Kiernan Lindsey DB
50 Matt Osborne LB
51 Cole Gridley LB
52 Francis Baker, Jr. LB
53 Patrick Derbak LB
54 Andrew Rausch LB
57 Matt Barlow LB
58 Nick Pellegrino DL
59 Brian Laipple DL
60 Mike Pando K
61 Eric Wiggins OL
62 Bill Bodzianowski OL
63 Gavin Grillo OL
64 Bruce Collins DL
65 Colm Flaherty OL
66 Jarrett Nadal OL
67 Levi Mock LB
68 John Moriarty OL
69 Nathan Terry OL
70 Matt Schroll OL
71 Rob Garner OL
72 Miles Chorley DL
73 Wesley Manderscheid LS
74 Ferdinand Velez OL
76 Johnathon Taylor OL
77 Nate Blair OL
79 Sean Cook OL
80 Matthew Niehus TE
82 Eric Slenk WR
83 Mike Gerton TE
85 Alex Petrik TE
86 Christian Duda WR
87 Andrew Butts WR
87-O Nick Strzelecki TE
88 Greg Wood P
89 Sean McCarty WR
90 Dean Reeves K
91 Brett Heber DL
92 Christopher Howard DL
93 John Giovenco DL
94 Aren Boz DL
95 Brian Plachinski DL
97 Nikko Carson DL
98 Chris Smith K
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Dale Carlson

Dale Carlson


Dale Carlson was named the 16th head football coach in Valparaiso University history on Jan. 14, 2010, and is just the seventh leader of the program since 1946.  In 2013 he will be entering his 25th season as a collegiate head coach overall, having posted a 112-134-3 career mark.   He embarks on year four with the Crusader program.

In his first season at the helm of the Brown and Gold, Carlson guided a First Team All-Pioneer Football League punter, and had seven other players earn Honorable Mention All-PFL accolades.  His punter, Greg Wood, set a new school record for average yards per punt by more than a yard-and-a-half.  Year two saw Wood earn Second Team All-PFL honors while five others garnered Honorable Mention awards.Carlson’s players at Valpo have also excelled in the classroom, as five student-athletes have been voted to the PFL All-Academic Team.  One player earned First Team Academic All-District V Team accolades as well.  Fifty-one players were named to the PFL Fall Academic Honor Roll in his first two years with the Crusaders.

Carlson arrived at Valpo from Ohio Dominican University in Columbus, Ohio, where he guided the Panthers to a 36-27 record over six seasons, including 7-3 marks each of his last two years.  At Ohio Dominican, Carlson began the program from scratch prior to the 2004 season.  He led the Panthers to an undefeated regular season in 2007 and a Mid-States Football Association-Mideast League championship.  ODU went on to defeat The Cumberlands in the NAIA playoffs before finishing the season 12-1 overall.  The Panthers’ offense led all of college football averaging more than 50 points per game, while leading NAIA with more than 550 yards of total offense in that same season.

In six years at Ohio Dominican, he produced five All-Americans, seven Academic All-Americans, and more than 90 All-Conference performers.  In 2009 he was named the NAIA Independent Coach of the Year while earning MSFA-Mideast League Coach of the Year honors in 2007.  He also earned American Football Coaches Association Region II and American Football Monthly/Schutt Sports NAIA National Coach of the Year honors in 2007.

Prior to his stint at Ohio Dominican, Carlson spent eight seasons as the head football coach at Tri-State University in Angola, Ind.  There he also began the intercollegiate football program, leading the school to 11 victories in 1998.  That same season he led the Thunder to the NAIA semifinals and a number three ranking nationally in the final NAIA poll.  He also led Tri-State to the Mideast Conference championship in 2001, the same season he was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Carlson also has spent four seasons as the head coach at Taylor University in Upland, Ind., as well as three seasons at Lakeland College in Sheboygan, Wis.  He began his collegiate coaching as the offensive line coach at Elmhurst College, and also served as an assistant coach at Franklin College as well as Grand Valley State University prior to his first head coaching position.

A linebacker in college, Carlson earned his Bachelor of Arts degree at Concordia University-Chicago majoring in physical education while earning a Master of Science in Education from Chicago State University.

Carlson is a member of the American Football Coaches Association and served as the president of the NAIA Football Coaches Association in 2001 and 2002.

Carlson, and his wife, Karen, have two children, Brian and Katie.