2013-14 Football
1 Devan Gadson DB
2 Alan Porter Jr. DB
3 Derrick Estell ATH
4 Denzell Conway RB
5 Ryan Gorski QB
6 Jabril Baker RB
7 Dylan Simkin WR
8 Ali Shahine DB
9 Ben Lehman QB
10 Tanner Kuramata WR
11 A.J. Bradley DB
12 Steve O'Bryant DB
13 Scott Staal QB
14 Andrew Cassara WR
15 Alex Hentgen WR
15-S Josh Young K
16 Keith Larson DB
16-O Trae Hoeske QB
17 Melvin Graham III DB
18 Fred Gladney WR
19 Eric Hoffman QB
20-S Mike Pando K
20 Cody Labanowitz ATH
21 Carl Jaskiw WR
22 Alex Grask DB
23 Ryan Singh DB
24 Patrick Derbak LB
25 Grayson Bastin RB
26 Colin Burke LB
27 Brett Fox TE
27 J.J. Nunes RB
28 Dale Cook DB
29 Hayden Hast RB
30 Idode Kerobo DB
31 Brandon Hall RB
32 Colton Sanchez LB
33-S Alexander Kozlowski P/K
33 Jay Slone LB
34 Emmanuel Bara-Hart DB
34-O Branden Slattery TE
35 Tevin Johnson LB
36 Charles Carter S
37 Robert Macari LB
38 Hannibal Mathis DB
39 Roberto Kelly LB
40 Steven Holman LB
40 Nate Saari LB
41 Cody Cotton DB
42 Zach Bihary TE
43 Aaron Brunner TE
44 Matt Mallon TE
45 Kenneth Floyd RB
45 Tim Foley DB
46 Alex Green LB
47 Jordan Lewis LB
48 Ryan Mundy LB
49 Jake Hutson RB
50 Connor Rettig OL
51 Lucas Lanzon LB
52 Francis Baker, Jr. LB
54 David Horak OL
55 Connor Conzelman LB
56 Dillon Sampson OL
57 Bill Bodzianowski OL
58 Matt Barlow DL
59 J.T. Rotroff LB
60 Michael Buchanan DL
61 Nate Koeneman OL
62 Tom Ehrlich OL
63 Jonathan Hammond DL
64 Ben DuKatz OL
65 Colm Flaherty OL
66 Matt Jaeger OL
67 Charlie Hackett DL
68 Kyle Jones OL
69 Daniel Terrana DL
70 Brandon Doepke DL
71 Sam Manternach OL
72 Drew White DL
73 James Tanton OL
74 Brian Lang OL
75 Stuart Barkley OL
76 Remy Linares OL
78 Brendan Flaherty OL
79 Sean Cook OL
81 Tony Taibi WR
82 Kent Warren WR
83 Justin Banks WR
84 Nathaniel Emminger WR
85 Andrew Butts WR
86 Ryan Shea WR
86 Kurtis Slenk WR
87 Colin Marcott WR
87 Randall Cork WR
88 Jacob Newman K
88 Colton Hill WR
89 Austin Etzler WR
89 Justin Ward WR
90 John Guilford DL
91 Johnathan Coyne DL
92 Bryce Dempsey DL
93 John Giovenco DL
94 Matthew McGinnis DL
95 Nick Moffitt DL
96 Jonathan "Bama" Powell DL
97 Austin Broshar DL
98 Nick Scoville DL
99 Wesley Manderscheid LS
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Dale Carlson

Dale Carlson


Dale Carlson was named the 16th head football coach in Valparaiso University history on Jan. 14, 2010, and is just the seventh leader of the program since 1946.  In 2013 he will be entering his 25th season as a collegiate head coach overall, having posted a 112-134-3 career mark.   He embarks on year four with the Crusader program.

In his first season at the helm of the Brown and Gold, Carlson guided a First Team All-Pioneer Football League punter, and had seven other players earn Honorable Mention All-PFL accolades.  His punter, Greg Wood, set a new school record for average yards per punt by more than a yard-and-a-half.  Year two saw Wood earn Second Team All-PFL honors while five others garnered Honorable Mention awards.Carlson’s players at Valpo have also excelled in the classroom, as five student-athletes have been voted to the PFL All-Academic Team.  One player earned First Team Academic All-District V Team accolades as well.  Fifty-one players were named to the PFL Fall Academic Honor Roll in his first two years with the Crusaders.

Carlson arrived at Valpo from Ohio Dominican University in Columbus, Ohio, where he guided the Panthers to a 36-27 record over six seasons, including 7-3 marks each of his last two years.  At Ohio Dominican, Carlson began the program from scratch prior to the 2004 season.  He led the Panthers to an undefeated regular season in 2007 and a Mid-States Football Association-Mideast League championship.  ODU went on to defeat The Cumberlands in the NAIA playoffs before finishing the season 12-1 overall.  The Panthers’ offense led all of college football averaging more than 50 points per game, while leading NAIA with more than 550 yards of total offense in that same season.

In six years at Ohio Dominican, he produced five All-Americans, seven Academic All-Americans, and more than 90 All-Conference performers.  In 2009 he was named the NAIA Independent Coach of the Year while earning MSFA-Mideast League Coach of the Year honors in 2007.  He also earned American Football Coaches Association Region II and American Football Monthly/Schutt Sports NAIA National Coach of the Year honors in 2007.

Prior to his stint at Ohio Dominican, Carlson spent eight seasons as the head football coach at Tri-State University in Angola, Ind.  There he also began the intercollegiate football program, leading the school to 11 victories in 1998.  That same season he led the Thunder to the NAIA semifinals and a number three ranking nationally in the final NAIA poll.  He also led Tri-State to the Mideast Conference championship in 2001, the same season he was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Carlson also has spent four seasons as the head coach at Taylor University in Upland, Ind., as well as three seasons at Lakeland College in Sheboygan, Wis.  He began his collegiate coaching as the offensive line coach at Elmhurst College, and also served as an assistant coach at Franklin College as well as Grand Valley State University prior to his first head coaching position.

A linebacker in college, Carlson earned his Bachelor of Arts degree at Concordia University-Chicago majoring in physical education while earning a Master of Science in Education from Chicago State University.

Carlson is a member of the American Football Coaches Association and served as the president of the NAIA Football Coaches Association in 2001 and 2002.

Carlson, and his wife, Karen, have two children, Brian and Katie.