Ole Miss Transfer Bogan Joins Valparaiso Program
Thursday, June 30, 2011
Ole Miss Transfer Bogan Joins Valparaiso Program
Will Bogan is the fourth new addition to the Crusader program.


Valparaiso head coach Bryce Drew announced today that Will Bogan, a 6’1” guard from Boise, Idaho, has enrolled in Valpo’s MBA program and has joined the Crusader basketball program.  Bogan spent three years at Ole Miss, graduating with a bachelor’s degree in managerial finance, and used two seasons of eligibility with the Rebels.

“Will is really a very, very good fit for Valparaiso, both academically and athletically,” said Drew.  “He helps fill a void left by the guys who graduated from last year’s team.  He has a knack for scoring the basketball and really extends the floor with his excellent shooting range.  He also has the ability to break guys down and get into the paint, where he can finish well with either hand or penetrate and kick out.”

Bogan appeared in 48 games for Ole Miss over his three years, including making seven starts as a freshman during the 2008-2009 campaign.  As a rookie, he averaged 2.3 points per game, including a career-high 16 points at Arkansas, and tied for third on the team with 44 assists.  Bogan played in four games in 2009-2010 before suffering a season-ending injury, for which he was granted a medical redshirt.  Last season, he saw action in 14 games for the Rebels.  Bogan was a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll throughout his tenure at Ole Miss.

Prior to playing at Ole Miss, Bogan enjoyed an outstanding prep career at Vallivue H.S., leading the Falcons to the Idaho 5A State Championship as a senior.  He earned 5A State Player of the Year honors from the Idaho Statesman after averaging 16.7 points, 3.8 assists and 3.7 steals per game in his final season.  As a junior, Bogan was named 5A South Idaho Player of the Year and an All-State First Team selection after helping Vallivue to the state consolation championship.

Bogan is the fourth new addition to the Crusader program for next season, joining Ben Boggs, Richie Edwards and Dino Jakolis.