Webb Named Horizon League co-Player of the Year, Three Crusaders Achieve All-League Recognition
Saturday, April 22, 2017
Webb Named Horizon League co-Player of the Year, Three Crusaders Achieve All-League Recognition

Senior Peter Webb (Madison, Wis. / James Madison Memorial) received an honor never before bestowed upon a member of the Valparaiso University men’s golf team on Saturday evening at the Horizon League Banquet preceding the Horizon League Championships, which begin on Sunday in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.

Webb was named the league’s co-Player of the Year alongside Wright State’s Ryan Wenzler, becoming the first Valpo golfer to receive Player of the Year honors. Webb was also a member of the all-league first team, while teammate and fellow senior Nick Seitz (Xenia, Ohio / Carroll) earned a place on the all-league second team. Both Webb and Seitz receive all-league recognition for the third consecutive year. The Valpo men have been represented on the all-league team five straight seasons.

The Crusaders were also represented on the all-league second-team on the women’s side, as senior Angie Kim (Schaumberg, Ill. / Fremd) achieved that feat. Kim became the first member of the Valpo women’s team to capture all-league honors since Michelle Kleckner in 2014.

Webb bookended a successful Crusader career with prestigious league accolades, bursting onto the scene as the Horizon League Newcomer of the Year in 2014 before finishing strong as the co-Player of the Year this season. He leads the team in scoring average at 73.00 in 34 rounds.

"When you look at the body of work that Pete and Nick have accomplished all four years with our program and namely this past year, it is quite exemplary," Valpo head men's golf coach Dave Gring said. "The fact that the both of these guys currently hold all 15 of our team and individual records is amazing. The team and I are very proud of our two captains and the leadership that they show both on the golf course and in the classroom."

Webb has won two Horizon League Golfer of the Week awards this season and six in his collegiate career. His most recent honor came this week after he placed third of 85 at Ball State’s Earl Yestingsmeier Invitational in Muncie after carding a 209. The highlight of his season came at Indiana University, when he took medalist honors by tying an 18-hole school record with a career-low 65. Since the Valpo men’s golf program resumed in 2009, there have been 23 rounds of 68 or lower. Webb owns over half (12) of those rounds.

Seitz ranks second on the team in scoring average at 74.61 in 18 rounds. He injured his lower back in spring 2016 and did not play in any events in the fall. His return to the course this spring has been a successful one.

"Pete is playing the best golf of his career and this season for us right now," Gring said. "Nick has worked religiously and diligently in the weight room and with our strength coach recovering from his lower back injury. He is playing his best golf of the season at this time.  Both seniors show a lot of enthusiasm and provide motivation for the rest of the team."

Kim finished the Fort Wayne Classic in eighth at 232 this year, helping Valpo to a program-record 54-hole team score of 319. She leads the team in scoring average at 79.55 in 20 rounds. Kim, admired by coaches and teammates for her leadership ability, posted her best individual round of the season on April 2 at the Fort Wayne Classic with a 74.

The 2017 Horizon League Championships tee off on Sunday morning in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla. Links to live scoring for both the men and women are available on ValpoAthletics.com.

"We are looking forward to the Horizon League Championship and making a strong finish to our 2016-17 tournament schedule," Gring said. "The golf course is in tremendous shape and the team is ready to compete."

Women’s Golf Co-Players of the Year

Sarah Thompson, Detroit Mercy

Morgan Smith, Oakland

Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year

Reva Morris, Youngstown State

Women’s Golf Co-Coaches of the Year

Alyssa Gaudio, Oakland

Nate Miklos, Youngstown State

Women’s Golf First Team All-Conference

Kaylee Neumeister, Freshman, Cleveland State

Sarah Thompson, Senior, Detroit Mercy

Fiona Schmidt, Junior, Oakland

Morgan Smith, Senior, Oakland

Reva Morris, Freshman, Youngstown State

Women’s Golf Second Team All-Conference

Sophie Kelner, Junior, Cleveland State

Avery Steen, Senior, Green Bay

Sarah Kellam, Senior, Northern Kentucky

Ryleigh Waltz, Senior, Northern Kentucky

Angie Kim, Senior, Valparaiso 

Men’s Golf Co-Players of the Year

Peter Webb, Valparaiso

Ryan Wenzler, Wright State

Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year

Scott Sparks, Detroit Mercy

Men’s Golf Coach of the Year

Steve Weir, Cleveland State

Men’s Golf First Team All-Conference

Patrick Luth, Senior, Cleveland State

Kyle Gaines, Senior, Detroit Mercy

Jacob Poore, Sophomore, Northern Kentucky

Peter Webb, Senior, Valparaiso

Ryan Wenzler, Senior, Wright State

Men’s Golf Second Team All-Conference

Anton Krecic, Sophomore, Cleveland State

Joe DuChateau, Senior, Green Bay

Jake Kneen, Junior, Oakland

Nick Seitz, Senior, Valparaiso

Austin Sipe, Senior, Wright State