18 Newcomers to Join Crusader Program
Wednesday, May 16, 2007
Valparaiso men's soccer head coach Mike Avery announced today that two transfers and 16 incoming freshmen will join the Crusader program for the 2007 season.

“This is a very large and talented group of players that fit our needs as we enter into the Horizon League," said Avery. “We lost some very important pieces of the team to graduation, but we were able to replace them with a top-class group of recruits that are excellent soccer players, talented students and, most importantly, young men of great character."

“This class has some experience and international flair with two transfers, some big-time club products and a few players who come from lesser-known club backgrounds that will shine when they take the field in the fall. With the commitments from these players to join our family, the Valpo soccer program has great momentum heading into the fall. We will be young in 2007 with just two seniors, but our future is very bright and we know that championships are on the horizon for this program."

Name Position Hometown High School/Prev. School (Club)
Jose Jaime del Castillo MF Mexico City, Mexico Gardner-Webb Univ.
Oscar Lomeli F Jalisco, Mexico Bethel [Ind.] College
Incoming Freshmen
Jay Cort D Bloomfield Hills, Mich. Wylie E. Groves (Michigan Rush)
Kevin Deitsch D/MF Cincinnati, Ohio St. Xavier (C.U.P. Red)
Jake Freisinger MF Saint John, Ind. Lake Central (Chicago Magic)
Stefan Gabis GK Chillicothe, Ohio Unioto (Ohio Galaxies FC)
Kyle Gentile MF Brownsburg, Ind. Brownsburg (Westside United)
Clayton Lyons MF Louisville, Ky. Trinity (JYSA United)
JP Lytle D Wooster, Ohio Wooster City (Pennine United)
Matthew Moffitt MF Erlenger, Ky. St. Henry District (TC United)
Jon Obial MF Cincinnati, Ohio Turpin (C.U.P. Red)
Adrian Ortiz MF Berwyn, Ill. Morton West (H.U.S.A.)
Ken Perkins MF Cedar Rapids, Iowa Kennedy (C.R.S.A.)
Brendan Roth MF Elkhart, Ind. Elkhart Memorial (Indiana Invaders)
Anthony Silvestri GK Thousand Oaks, Calif. Thousand Oaks (So Cal United)
Zach Stivers F/MF Brownsburg, Ind. Brownsburg (Westside United)
Ryan Tudas D/MF Leawood, Kan. Blue Valley North (BVSC Stars Real)
Taylor Warden MF Onalaska, Wis. Onalaska (Coulee Region Minnesota SC)