Valpo Hands out Basketball Awards at Banquet Sunday Night
Tuesday, April 25, 2006
Players were recognized and team awards were handed out at the Lyn Hagstrom Valparaiso University Women's Basketball Banquet on Sunday evening at the Strongbow Inn Banquet Center.

Head coach Keith Freeman honored each of the team members in front of more than 100 supporters at the annual event to wrap up the 2005-2006 season. In addition, Freeman handed out the awards that were voted upon by the various team members.

Carrie Myers (Stickleyville, Va./Lee H.S.) was the recipient of the Dorothy M. McCormick Award, presented in recognition of her talent, ability, and devotion to the ideals of the Valparaiso University Women's Basketball program.

Jamie Gutowski (Crown Point, Ind./Andrean H.S.) earned the Prepare to be a Champion Award in recognition of Julie Bigler, a student-athlete who relentlessly worked to be the best she could be, and whose attitude pierced the heart of everyone around her.

Gutowski also earned the Take a Hit Award, given to the player who took the most charges as well as the Captain's Award. Krystal Taylor (Minneapolis, Minn./North H.S.) and Lauren Bechtold (Hebron, Ind./Hebron H.S.) both earned the Captain's Award as well. In addition, Bechtold was named the Outstanding Defensive Player. Betsy Rietema (Grand Rapids, Mich./Christian H.S.) was named the Outstanding Offensive Player while Evva Comans (Zonhoven, Belgium/Kindsheid Jesu Hasselt H.S.) earned the Most Improved Award.