Official Athletic Site of the Valparaiso University Crusaders
Hochstetler and Kulaga Earn All-Academic Team Honors
Agnieszka Kulaga (Ray Acevedo)
Agnieszka Kulaga (Ray Acevedo)
Launa Hochstetler (Ray Acevedo)
Launa Hochstetler (Ray Acevedo)

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Valparaiso University senior guards Launa Hochstetler (Berlin, Ohio/Hiland H.S.) and Agnieszka Kulaga (Tarnow, Poland/I Liceum Ogolnoksztalcace H.S.) have each been voted to the Horizon League’s All-Academic Team.

Hochstetler, an accounting and finance major, earned First Teal All-Horizon League honors this season after leading the league in assists and finishing fourth in school history with 369 for her career.  She set a school record shooting 83.8% from the free throw line for her career while ranking 20th on the Crusaders’ all-time scoring list.

She was voted to the ESPN The Magazine All-Academic District V Second Team this season and was the U.S. Army Horizon League Scholar-Athlete of the Month for February.  Twice during her career she earned U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete of the Week honors as well while being named to the league’s Academic Honor Roll during both fall and spring semesters.

Kulaga, a master’s student in business administration, averaged 11.5 points per game for Valpo as a senior and finished 15th all-time at the school in scoring.  She set the school’s single season free throw percentage record as a senior, shooting 88.6% from the charity stripe and was named the Most Valuable Player of the Coors Rocky Mountain Invitational.

She was named to the ESPN The Magazine All-Academic District V First Team this season after earning Second Team honors one year ago.  She is now a two-time Horizon League All-Academic Team selection after also earning the accolade as a junior.  Kulaga earned her bachelor’s degree in international business in just three years at Valpo.

To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League Team honors, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or higher and completed at least one year at the school earning 24 semester hours.  Those individuals that are nominated for the honor are then voted upon by the conference’s faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors.  In women’s basketball, a five member team is selected.

M Soccer Lake Forest Brown Field
Aug 23, 11:00 a.m. Valpo
M Soccer Lewis Brown Field
Aug 25, 7:00 p.m. Valpo
Football Valpo Macomb, Ill.
Aug 28, 6:00 p.m. Western Illinois
Volleyball Valpo Durham, N.C.
Aug 29, 3:00 p.m. Wofford
M Soccer Valpo Raleigh, N.C.
Aug 29, 6:00 p.m. North Carolina State
Volleyball Valpo Durham, N.C.
Aug 30, 2:00 p.m. Campbell
Volleyball Valpo Durham, N.C.
Aug 30, 6:00 p.m. North Carolina Central
M Soccer Valpo Davidson, N.C.
Aug 31, 3:00 p.m. Davidson
Volleyball IUPUI ARC
Sep 3, 7:00 p.m. Valpo
Volleyball Valpo Brookings, S.D.
Sep 5, 10:00 a.m. UMKC
Volleyball Valpo Brookings, S.D.
Sep 5, 5:00 p.m. Stephen F. Austin
W CC Crusader Open Sunset Hills Farm
Sep 5, 5:00 p.m.
M CC Crusader Open Sunset Hills Farm
Sep 5, 5:45 p.m.
Volleyball Valpo Brookings, S.D.
Sep 6, 2:00 p.m. South Dakota State
Football Saint Joseph's (Ind.) Brown Field
Sep 6, 7:00 p.m. Valpo
M Soccer Valpo Indianapolis, Ind.
Sep 9, 6:00 p.m. Butler