Crusaders Set Another Relay Record at Mid-Con Championships
Friday, February 16, 2007
The Crusaders 800 freestyle relay ended the second day of competition at the Mid-Continent Conference Swimming and Diving Championships in Indianapolis, Ind. shattering the school record on the way to a runner-up finish in the event.

Elizabeth Thompson (Norman, Okla./North H.S.), Rachel Majercik (Schaumburg, Ill./Notre Dame Prep H.S.), Amanda Gregory (Carmel, Ind./Carmel H.S.), and Jaclyn Krause (Rochester, Mich./Notre Dame Prep H.S.) touched the wall in 7:48.71, shattering the old mark of 7:54.61 set back in 2005.

Individually, Anna Orwick (Broadlands, Ill./Champaign Centennial H.S.) also earned a second place finish on the three-meter diving board with a score of 206.05.

Majercik needed a swim-off for the final spot in the finals of the 100 butterfly in the morning preliminaries and made it pay off, finishing fifth in the finals with a time of 1:00.21.

In the 200 freestyle, Krause turned in a seventh place effort with a time of 1:57.50 while Gregory placed 11th in the same event with a mark of 1:57.88.

Elise Bugenske (Saginaw, Mich./Nouvel Catholic Central H.S.) and Katie Jajtner (Port Washington, Wis./Port Washington H.S.) finished ninth and tenth respectively in the 100 backstroke. Bugenske finished in 1:02.36 while Jajtner was 0.50 seconds behind.

Thompson turned in an 11th place finish for Valpo in the 400 individual medley with a time of 4:48.46, the fourth fastest time in school history.

In the 100 breaststroke, Amy Young was Valpo's top finisher with a time of 1:15.19, but she failed to qualify for the evening finals.

Valpo started the day with a seventh place finish in the 200 medley relay. Karen Berg (Glendale, Ariz./Deer Valley H.S.), Amy Young (LaPorte, Ind./LaPorte H.S.), Majercik, and Gregory finished in a time of 1:55.10.

Valparaiso, as a team, is in sixth place after two days of competition with 215 points. Oakland leads with 617 points followed by Western Illinois with 348 points.

The final day of competition will take place on Saturday with preliminary heats beginning at 9 a.m. CST with finals to follow at 5:30 p.m. CST.