Kapers Named to 2018 Johnny Bench Award Watch List
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Kapers Named to 2018 Johnny Bench Award Watch List
Scott Kapers is hitting .357 this season.

Valparaiso University junior catcher Scott Kapers (Schererville, Ind. / Mount Carmel) was named to the official 2018 Johnny Bench Award Watch list on Tuesday.

Kapers is one of only two Missouri Valley Conference players on the list, joining Dallas Baptist senior Matt Duce. The award is given annually to the top Division I collegiate catcher.

The watch list will be narrowed down to semifinalists, who will be announced on May 16. Three finalists will be announced on June 4 and the winner will be unveiled on June 28 at an awards presentation in Wichita, Kan.

Kapers, an outstanding defensive catcher, threw out 41.5 percent of would-be base stealers last season. He finished the 2017 campaign batting a team-high .378 over the final 14 games. That offensive success late in the season has carried over to 2018, as Kapers owns a .357 batting average with four doubles, a home run and 10 RBIs in 11 games.

2018 Johnny Bench Award Watch List

Mke Alescio SR Seton Hall University

Hunter Allen SR Alabama State University

Michael Amditis FR University of Miami

Justin Bardwell JR Fordham University

Jacob Barnwell JR Ohio State University

Joey Bart JR Georgia Tech Institute of Technology

Chris Bec SR University of Maine

Cole Bedford JR Texas A&M University

Kyle Bergeron SO University of the Incarnate Word

Carter Bins SO California State University, Fresno

Phil Capra JR Wagner College

Charlie Carpenter SR University of South Carolina Upstate

Trevor Casanova JR California State University, Northridge

Ryan Clinch SR University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Christ Conley SR Canisius College

Daniel Cope FR California State University, Fullerton

Kirt Cormier SR Alcorn State University

Tyler Cropley SR University of Iowa

Nick Dalesandro JR Purdue University

Brad Debo SO North Caroina State University

Dominic DiCaprio JR Rice University

Stephen Dobbs SR University of Alabama at Birmingham

Cody Doyle SR Sacred Heart University

Logan Driscoll SO George Mason University

Matt Duce SR Dallas Baptist University

Dustin Duhon JR McNeese State University

Jake Dunham SO Northern Illinois University

Michael Emodi JR Creighton University

Kale Emshoff SO University of Arkansas - Little Rock

Hunter Fain JR Morehead State University

Mike Farnell JR Murray State University

Hunter Feduccia JR Louisiana State University

Justin Felix SR Arkansas State University

Ryan Fineman JR Indiana University

Jesse Forestell JR Western Michigan University

Kaleb Foster JR University of Nevada

Nick Garland SR Central Connecticut State University

Nick Gatewood JR Georgia State University

Anthony George JR University of Central Florida

Tyrus Greene JR California University

Austin Hale SR Stetson University

Logan Harvery JR Wake Forest University

Riley Helland JR University of San Francisco

Spencer Holcomb SR Western Carolina University

Alex Holderbach JR Eastern Kentucky University

Luke Horanski JR Virginia Tech University

Ryan Jeffers JR University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Eric Jones JR Davidson College

Scott Kapers JR Valparaiso University

Sean Kelly SO Mount St. Mary's University

Kyle Knauth SR Nichols State University

Caleb Knight SR University of Virginia

Grant Koch  JR University of Arkansas

Justin Kunz JR Gardner-Webb University

Shea Langeliers SO Baylor University

Cole MacLaren JR University of Pittsburgh

Peyton Maddox SR Virginia Military Institute

Phil Madonna SR Siena College

TJ Marik JR Northern Kentucky University

Gian Martellini JR Boston College

Chad McKinney SR Lamar University

Nick Meyer JR California Polytechnic State University

Anthony Mulrine SO Samford University

Dean Nevarez JR San Diego State University

Matt O'Neill JR University of Pennsylvania

Richard Ortiz JR Grambling State University

Pedro Pages SO Florida Atlantic University

Fabian Pena JR Manhattan College

DJ Petrinsky JR University of Texas