Crusaders Break Three Records on First Day of HL Championships
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Crusaders Break Three Records on First Day of HL Championships

The Valparaiso men’s and women’s swimming teams took to the pool on Wednesday for the first day of the Horizon League Swimming and Diving Championships. Setting three school records at the Walter Schroeder Aquatic Center, the men finished with 48 points and sit in seventh place, while the women scored 52 points and are in eighth place.

Freshman Dani Gomez Barrientos (Mexico City, Mexico/Grandview Prep. [Fla.]) set the fastest time in school history in the women’s 1000 yard freestyle by ten seconds as she touched the wall in 10:23.87. She took 11th in the event.

The men’s 200 yard freestyle relay team of Gonzalo Castro Diaz (Mexico City, Mexico), Matt King (Clinton, Ill./Clinton), Fred Jenny (New Albany, Ohio/New Albany) and Kyle Braun (McHenry, Ill./West) set the school record by .35 with their time of 1:23.96 as they took seventh.

In the men’s 200 yard medley relay, the quartet of Max Penn (Columbus, Ohio/St. Charles Prep), Jenny, Castro Diaz and Braun took seventh with their record setting time of 1:32.26, almost a full second better than the previous mark.

Not to be outdone, the women’s 200 yard freestyle relay of Erin McBride (St. Louis, Mo./Webster Groves), Lauren Knop (Geneva, Ill./Geneva), Emily Trimpe (New Palestine, Ind./New Palestine) and Amanda Jenny (New Albany, Ohio/New Albany) tied the fourth best time in Crusader history as they finished in 1:38.83 and took seventh place.

And in the women’s 200 yard medley relay, Knop, Makenna Cannon (Delafield, Wis./Kettle Moraine), Gomez Barrientos and McBride set the third fastest time in Valpo history with their time of 1:48.32 to finish in eighth.

Action continues at the Horizon League Swimming and Diving Championships on Thursday with men's three meter diving, the 500 yard freestyle, the 200 yard IM, the 50 yard freestyle and the 400 yard medley relay. Trials start at 10:30 am CT and finals begin at 7:00 pm. Links to live streaming and live results will be available through