Whitmer and Stump Post Wins but Valpo Falls to Butler
Wednesday, April 15, 2009
Whitmer and Stump Post Wins but Valpo Falls to Butler
Kyle Stump won his third straight singles match. (Ray Acevedo)

Adam Whitmer (Shipshewana, Ind./Westview H.S.) won his sixth straight singles match and Kyle Stump (Plymouth, Ind./Plymouth H.S.) also posted a singles victory on Wednesday afternoon, but it was not enough for Valparaiso as the Crusaders fell 5-2 to Butler at the Valpo Tennis Complex in the home finale.

Whitmer, who remains undefeated at 5-0 in Horizon League play, won for the 10th time in his last 11 matches, defeating Brandon Bayliss 6-4, 7-6 (4) at third singles.  Stump also needed a super tie-break for the third set to defeat Zach Ervin 2-6, 7-5, 10-7 at the fifth spot in the order.  Stump has won three straight matches now and improves to 7-3 at the fifth position.

Butler (10-12, 5-2 Horizon) won three of the other four singles matches in straight sets though.  Bryce Warren defeated Tom Litscher (Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial H.S.) 6-3, 6-0 at two while Chris Herron was a 6-2, 6-1 winner over Kevin DeHerrera (Littleton, Colo./Chatfield H.S.) at the fourth spot.  Lenz Theodor added a 6-3, 6-1 win over Phidias Fortune (San Antonio, Texas/Madison H.S.) at sixth singles.  Alex Lau (Bloomington, Minn./Jefferson Senior H.S.), the lone senior on the Crusader roster, had his Senior Day spoiled by Ben Raynauld, falling a super tie-break for the third set 6-2, 6-7 (5), 10-8.

The Bulldogs opened play sweeping all three doubles matches.  Ervin and Warren were 8-4 victors over Lau and Litscher at the top of the lineup while Theodor and Stephen McLoughlin topped DeHerrera and Stump 8-2 at two.  Herron and Bayliss added a 9-7 win over Whitmer and Fortune at third doubles.

“Even though we lost the match, I think the guys are starting to believe that they can compete with the top Horizon League schools,” head coach Jim Daugherty said.

Valparaiso (5-10, 2-3) will begin its final regular season road trip of the season on Saturday in Youngstown, Ohio.  First serve against Youngstown State is set for 1 p.m. CDT.