Athletics Holds Annual ARC Awards Ceremony Sunday Evening
Monday, May 9, 2022
Athletics Holds Annual ARC Awards Ceremony Sunday Evening
The 2022 winners of the ARC Awards.

For the first time in three years, Valpo Athletics student-athletes, coaches and staff were able to gather in person at the Harre Union on Sunday evening for the annual ARC Awards ceremony, celebrating the successes of this academic year and presenting the year-end awards, as voted on by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

The evening culminated in the presentation of the Athlete of the Year honors. This year’s Male Athlete of the Year was presented to men’s golf’s Caleb VanArragon, who earned MVC All-Conference honors for the third time and was named Valley Scholar-Athlete of the Year, was a six-time MVC Golfer of the Week this season and broke the program’s single-season scoring average record. The Female Athlete of the Year was claimed by tennis’ Olivia Czerwonka, who was the MVC Player of the Year, won singles and doubles titles at the MVC Individual Championships and was a four-time MVC Player of the Week.

This year’s Newcomer of the Year awards went to basketball’s Kobe King and volleyball’s Elise Swistek, both of whom earned postseason recognition from the MVC for their achievements in their first year at Valpo. Men’s golfer Anthony Delisanti brought home the Male Performance of the Year award for his stellar performance in earning medalist honors at the MVC Championship, highlighted by shooting 6-under par on the back nine in the final round to come from behind for the victory. The Female Performance of the Year went to the volleyball team for their thrilling sweep of UConn in front of a raucous crowd at the ARC in the semifinals of the NIVC.

Valparaiso University President José Padilla had the opportunity to attend the ARC Awards for the first time since taking office and spoke to the group before presenting the inaugural Beacon of Light Leadership Awards, won by men’s golf’s Garrett Willis and softball’s Peyton Moeder. Director of Athletics Mark LaBarbera, attending the ARC Awards for the final time before his retirement, was honored by the student-athletes in a tribute video and presented the Anderson-Hoffman Memorial Service Award — awarded to the student-athlete who best demonstrates what it means to be a champion in the community — to volleyball’s Brittany Anderson.

Men’s basketball’s Ben Krikke and tennis’ Claire Czerwonka received the Bill Steinbrecher Sportsmanship Award and the Rebecca D. Carter Memorial Award, respectively, which are given to the male and female student-athletes who have best exemplified integrity and sportsmanship while representing Valparaiso University. Women’s basketball player Caitlin Morrison and football’s Gavin Twigg were honored as the Comeback Athletes of the Year, while the Unsung Hero awards went to soccer’s Natalie Graf and football’s Ben Niesner.