Record Five Crusaders Named to 2016 NFF Hampshire Society
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Record Five Crusaders Named to 2016 NFF Hampshire Society

For the first time in program history, five members of the Valparaiso University football team were selected to the 2016 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society.

Alex Green (Zionsvillle, Ind./Zionsville Community), John Guilford (Spencer, Ohio/Black River), Jake Hutson (Blanchard, Mich./Montabella), Sam Manternach (Cedar Rapids, Iowa/Prairie), and Scott Staal (Grand Haven, Mich./Grand Haven) were named to the 2016 Hampshire Honor Society in its tenth year of existence. Qualifications to be considered for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include being a starter or a significant substitute in one’s final year of eligibility, achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average through undergraduate study, and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

2015 represented Green's third consecutive 100-tackle season as he amassed 117 stops on the year. His tackle total led the Pioneer Football League (PFL) and ranked eighth in all of Division I FCS. Guilford racked up 12 tackles for a loss in 2015 - good for sixth in the PFL - in addition to five sacks. Hutson put the finishing touches on an illustrious career in the backfield for the Brown and Gold. He led the rushing attack with 281 yards and a pair of touchdown rushes. Hutson also finished third on the team in receiving yards (243) and catches (29). Manterach was a critical veteran voice on a predominantly young offensive line. He started in nine of Valpo's ten games in 2015. Staal battled through injuries as he paced all Valpo quarterbacks in passing yards per game (168.2). He fired three TD passes and accumulated 841 yards through the air.

The quintet of student-athletes joins 17 previous Crusaders to have been selected for the honor: Stuart Barkley, Mike Gerton, Travis Anderson, Nate Blair, Grant Bushong, Nate Goergen, Like Kanclerz, Ryan Koepke, Ryan Kozey, Tim Kratz, Tom Oswald, Adam Rundh, Alex Soller, Matt Watkins, Ross Wiemer, Justin Wiler and Bobby Wysocki.