Snouffer Tabbed First Team All-Conference, Gessinger Receives Second Team Nod
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Snouffer Tabbed First Team All-Conference, Gessinger Receives Second Team Nod

The Valparaiso University football team was represented on both the all-Pioneer Football League first and second teams as the conference announced its postseason honors on Tuesday.

Senior linebacker Drew Snouffer (Columbus, Ohio / Upper Arlington) received all-PFL First Team recognition, becoming the first Valpo player to earn that distinction since Alex Green in 2015. Before having his season cut two games short by an injury, Snouffer racked up 106 tackles, his third straight season of 100 tackles or more. He became just the second Valpo player in the last 25 years to enjoy three straight seasons with 100 tackles or more, joining Green (2013-2015).

Snouffer led the PFL with 11.8 tackles per game, a mark that ranked sixth nationally in Division I FCS. He had two defensive touchdowns this season, notching a 40-yard interception return for a touchdown on Oct. 20 at Morehead State and a 50-yard fumble return for a TD on Nov. 3 at Marist. In the process, Snouffer became the first Valpo player with two defensive TDs in the same season since Devan Gadson in 2012 and the first with both a pick six and a fumble return for a score in the same season in over 20 years.

Snouffer finished with 4.5 tackles for loss, two sacks and two fumble recoveries in nine games this season. He earned all-PFL honorable mention in both 2016 and 2017 during his sophomore and junior campaigns.

Junior Bailey Gessinger (Goshen, Ind. / Northwood) was recognized for his work as a return specialist as a member of the all-PFL second team for the third straight season. He was named the PFL Special Teams Player of the Week on Oct. 14. Gessinger enters his senior season with four career kickoff returns for touchdowns, one shy of tying a PFL record. Two of those returns came this season, allowing Gessinger to equal his own program watermark for kickoff return TDs in a single season with two.

Gessinger broke off a 97-yard kickoff return for a score in a 35-17 win over rival Butler on Oct. 13 before turning the trick again, this time for 93 yards, the next week at Morehead State. The Valpo junior finished the season with 10 punt returns for 41 yards and 39 kickoff returns for 954 yards (24.5 yards per return).

Valpo also had seven players named all-PFL Honorable Mention selections – junior defensive back Jamari Booker (Kentwood, Mich. / East Kentwood), redshirt junior offensive lineman Jack Jarnigan (Los Gatos, Calif. / Los Gatos), senior wide receiver Griffin Norberg (Sunrise, Fla. / Western), junior linebacker Austin Petrie (Livonia, Mich. / Stevenson), junior defensive tackle James Reed (De Soto, Mo. / Saint Pius X), senior offensive lineman Tom Schofield (Chicago, Ill. / St. Rita) and senior defensive lineman Mike Wheeler (Fullerton, Calif. / La Habra).

2018 Pioneer Football League Major Award Winners

Offensive Player of the Year: Anthony Lawrence, San Diego

Defensive Player of the Year: Nathan Clayberg, Drake

Special Teams Player of the Year: Michael Armstead, San Diego

Freshman Offensive Player of the Year: Jack Cook, Dayton

Co-Freshman Defensive Player of the Year: Mickey Kane, Butler

Co-Freshman Defensive Player of the Year: Dreylan Hines, Davidson

Coach of the Year: Roger Hughes, Stetson

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: To be announced, Wednesday

2018 All-Pioneer Football League First Team

OFFENSE (3 RBs due to tie in voting)

WR Pace Temple (U, 1) Butler

WR Juston Christian (4x) Marist

WR Michael Bandy (U, H) San Diego

QB Anthony Lawrence (U, 3x) San Diego

TE Donald Parham (H) Stetson

RB Wesley Dugger (1) Davidson

RB Tucker Yinger (U, 1) Dayton

FB Garnett Nicolas Jacksonville

OL Dan Cooney (3x) San Diego

OL Ben Gauthier (2) Dayton

OL Zion Johnson Davidson

OL Jake Michaels (1) San Diego

OL Jake Dempsey (H) Jacksonville

OL Andrew Togalski Stetson


DL Nathan Clayberg (1) Drake

DL Gavin Dineen Drake

DL Nick Friedel San Diego

DL Nick Surges (H) Dayton

LB Kieran Severa (H) Drake

LB Andrew Lutgens Dayton

LB Willie Barrett (1) Marist

LB Colby Duncan Stetson

LB Drew Snouffer (H) Valparaiso

DB Will Warner (H) Drake

DB David Leisring (H) Dayton

DB Jabari Butler (H) Drake

DB Brandon Miller (H) Marist


PK Danny Donley (H) Drake

P Sean Smith (4x) Dayton

RS Michael Armstead San Diego

LS Matt Tunnacliffe (H) Dayton

Notes in parentheses: U-indicates a player was a unanimous first-team selection, 4x-is a four-time first-team All-PFL selection; 3x-is a three-time first-

team All-PFL selection, 1-was a first-team selection in 2017, 2-was a second-team selection in 2017, H-was a honorable mention selection in 2017; FR-

was a Freshman Player of the Year in 2017.

2018 All-Pioneer Football League Second Team


WR Steve Burdette Stetson

WR Jarin Higginbotham Morehead State

WR Steve Doran Drake

QB Colin McGovern Stetson

TE Adam Trautman Dayton

RB Jareem Westcott Stetson

RB Emilio Martinez, San Diego

FB Jorell Story Davidson

OL Adam Valencia San Diego

OL Tommy Kennedy Butler

OL Ethan Steinbacher Davidson

OL Grant Snow Drake

OL James McCammon Stetson


DL Emmanuel Soriano Marist

DL Bryce Perry-Martin Davidson

DL Eric Morgan Drake

DL Connor Spencer San Diego

LB Kim Mahoney San Diego

LB Connor Willis Drake

LB Mason Brunner Butler

LB Kama Kamaka San Diego

DB Arrion Archie San Diego

DB JJ Henderson Stetson

DB Luke Sennett Butler

DB Sean Lynch Drake


PK Drew Bevelhimer Drake

P Tanner Kuljian San Diego

RS Bailey Gessinger Valparaiso

LS Mason Brunner Butler

2018 All-Pioneer Football League Honorable Mention

BUTLER: Bobby Jensen (OT), Mickey Kane (DE), Carter Raliegh (LB), Dakota Sneed (C), Brad Sznajder (RB), Ugo Udeogu (DT); DAVIDSON: Tony

Collins (LB), Dreylan Hines (FS), Nick Nolting (LS), Clay Robinson (DT), Danial Runk (OG), Bryce Simmons (C), Will Wicks (WR/RB);

DAYTON: Joe Bruni (PK), Kyle Butz (PR/KR), Jack Cook (QB), Michael Niese (OG), Isaac Sexton (DT); DRAKE: Jacob Bacon (OL), Devin Cates

(SLOT), Cooper Christiano (NB), Zach DeLeon (TE), Brady Eckert (LS), Ross Kennedy (P), Jordan Lewinski (OL), Peter Read (DT), Zac Rujawitz (LB),

Tyler Terveer (OLB), Terry Wallen (PR); JACKSONVILLE: Javier Arce-Ramirez (PK), Dane Cordell (C), CJ Lewis (CB), Crandall Maines (DT), Thomas

Oporto (LB), Calvin Turner Jr. (QB), Caysaun Wakeley (LB); MARIST: Wes Beans (S), Maliek Carr (LB), Grant Dixon (LB), Joe Giordano (LS), Jon

Kansa (TE), Justice Seales (S), Eric Taylor (DE), Ryan Webb (CB), Dan Wittekind (C), Eddie Zinn Turner (DT); MOREHEAD STATE: Jamil Butler (DE),

Andrew Foster (P), Ian Holder (RS), Kris Jones (OL), Sayyid Kanu (DB), Josh Poe (OL), Ben Price (OL); SAN DIEGO: David Tolbert (CB), Bradley

Alexander (LG), Alex Brown (RG), Reggie Gantt (SS), JJ Henderson (DB), Grant Hodges (FB), Justin Jordan (WR), Jonny Messina (K), Fermon Reid

(DE), Jalon Scott (CB), Colin Wray (LS); VALPARAISO: Jamari Booker (DB), Jack Jarnigan (OL), Griffin Norberg (WR), Austin Petrie (LB), James Reed

(DL), Tom Schofield (OL), Mike Wheeler (DL).