Valpo Places League-Most Eight on Horizon League Track & Field All-Academic Teams
Monday, May 1, 2017
Valpo Places League-Most Eight on Horizon League Track & Field All-Academic Teams

The Valparaiso University men’s and women’s track and field teams emerged as Champions in Classroom, placing a league-most eight athletes on the Horizon League all-academic team, which was announced on Monday. The men’s team boasts six honorees and the women have two on the team.

Sophomore Alexander Bruno (Bloomington, Ill./University), junior Andrew Guzek (Valparaiso, Ind./Valparaiso), junior Montel Hall (Waukegan, Ill./Waukegan), sophomore Connor Hickey (Peru, Ill./LaSalle-Peru), senior Max Morello (Plano, Ill./Plano), sophomore Keith Nagel (Las Vegas, Nev./Faith Lutheran), junior Kim Heiny (Burnettesville, Ind./Twin Lakes) and senior Liz Owen (Freedom, Wis./Freedom) were recognized.

Owen has a cumulative grade point average of 3.63 as a theology and ministry major. She has been a strong force for Valpo during her time on campus, earning two Outstanding Running Performer awards at the Horizon League Indoor Championships in 2016 and 2017. She has her name carved in the women’s career record books eight times. She has her name atop the list for the 3,000m steeplechase. Heiny holds a 3.91 GPA in finance and has earned this honor for a second time. Throughout this season, she holds the top time in the 5,000m race for the women and ranks third in the 1,500m event.

Bruno has been placed on this list for the first time during his collegiate career. He has a 3.51 GPA in mathematics. He leads the men in two distance races and stands second in another. Guzek has earned this honor for the first time as a business management and sport management major, amassing a 3.64 GPA. He is a top thrower in two events for Valpo.

Hall is the only repeat winner for the men’s squad, receiving this recognition in back-to-back seasons. The jumper has a 3.80 GPA in finance. He leads the team with a jump of 44’10 3/4" in the triple jump this year. Hickey, a civil engineering major, has excelled in the classroom and earned a GPA of 3.84. This year, he has competed in five events for the Brown and Gold.

Morello, the men’s only senior honoree, has a 3.61 GPA in sport management. The veteran has run in three events this season for the Crusaders, leading in the 10,000m race. Nagel has a 3.89 GPA in geography. The thrower has a javelin toss distance of 160’01”.

Both teams are in action this weekend as they compete at the Horizon League Outdoor Championships. The meet is hosted by Youngstown State University.

Men’s Track and Field All-Academic Team

Charlie Felton, Detroit Mercy

Ilia Panev, Detroit Mercy

Caleb Abfall, Milwaukee

Peter Andrew, Milwaukee

Kyle Becker, Milwaukee

Nate Pozolinski, Milwaukee

Trase Milburn, Northern Kentucky

Tristan Tapia, Northern Kentucky

George O’Connor, Oakland

Alex Bailey, UIC

Favio Nunez, UIC

Christian Saporiti, UIC

Luke Taccola, UIC

Alexander Bruno, Valparaiso

Andew Guzek, Valparaiso

Montel Hall, Valparaiso

Connor Hickey, Valparaiso

Max Morello, Valparaiso

Keith Nagel, Valparaiso

Joe Dixon, Youngstown State                                             

Ryan Sullivan, Youngstown State                                       

Carl Zallow, Youngstown State

Women’s Track and Field All-Academic Team

Samantha Butterbaugh, Cleveland State

Natalie Vizard, Detroit Mercy

Leah Holmes, Milwaukee

Steph Kostowicz, Milwaukee

Tess Nelson, Milwaukee

Jennah Flairty, Northern Kentucky                                    

Olivia Goessling, Northern Kentucky                                 

BriAuna Keys, Northern Kentucky                                     

Ashley Burr, Oakland

Miranda Haas, Oakland

Rachel Levy, Oakland

Dana Tessmer, Oakland

Ann Mikulecky, UIC

Kim Heiny, Valparaiso

Liz Owen, Valparaiso

Katie Abrahamowicz, Wright State

Alexandra Brown, Wright State

Hailey Brumfield, Wright State

Maria Heckman, Wright State

Gabrielle Markley, Wright State

Sarina Mauerman, Youngstown State                               

Ellie Pollock, Youngstown State                                         

Libby Rogenski, Youngstown State                                    

McKenzie Sturtz, Youngstown State