Football Wraps Up Season with Saturday's Banquet
Tuesday, December 14, 2010
Football Wraps Up Season with Saturday's Banquet
Adrian Gober gave the senior address at the annual banquet. (Patti Nemeth)

Nearly 200 people filled the Valparaiso University Harre Union Ballroom on Saturday afternoon as the Crusaders handed out the team’s season awards at the annual football banquet.

Former Chicago Bears tight end Michael Cobb was the keynote speaker while defensive back Adrian Gober (Gary, Ind./Merrillville H.S.) gave the senior address.

Head coach Dale Carlson then handed out nine individual awards to players for their performances throughout the 2010 season.  Punter Greg Wood (Libertyville, Ill./Libertyville H.S.) was named the team’s Most Valuable Player while wide receiver Sean McCarty  (Waukesha, Wis./West H.S.) earned Offensive Most Valuable Player honors. Gober was the recipient of the team’s Defensive Most Valuable Player award.

The Offensive Rookie of the Year was presented to wide receiver Eric Slenk (Holland, Mich./Christian H.S.) and the Defensive Rookie of the Year was given to defensive back Alex Grask (Naperville, Ill./Central H.S.).

Jabril Baker (Indianapolis, Ind./North Central H.S.), a wide receiver, earned the Offensive 110% Award while defensive lineman Miles Chorley (Tulare, Calif./Central Valley Christian H.S.) received the Defensive 110% Award.

The annual Richard P. Koening Award, which exemplifies moral character, academic, and athletic achievement went to senior Eli Crawford (Bogart, Ga./North Oconee H.S.).  Finally, the Joe Sever Trophy, recognizing not only skill, but the courage, character, attitude, and achievement above and beyond the call of duty, went to Alex Soller (Michigan City, Ind./Michigan City H.S.).