Valpo Football Announces 2011 Team Captains
Wednesday, May 4, 2011
Valpo Football Announces 2011 Team Captains
Grant Bushong is one of three captains for the Crusaders this fall. (Stacey LaCalamita)

Valparaiso University head football coach Dale Carlson has announced that Grant Bushong (Ionia, Mich./Ionia H.S.), Laurence Treadaway (Detroit, Mich./Orchard Lake Saint Mary’s H.S.), and Ferdinand Velez (Chicago, Ill./Saint Patrick H.S.) have been named the Crusaders’ team captains for the 2011 season.

“I believe we have three strong captains to provide the core of our team leadership for 2011,” Carlson said.  “All three have done a tremendous job during the off-season and in spring practice.  It was evident to the coaching staff that Laurence, Grant, and Ferdy had come to the front as far as leadership is concerned.  I may still appoint another offensive player as a captain, though.  That decision would be made after training camp in August.”

Bushong, who will be a senior defensive lineman, made 59 tackles for the Crusaders, including six for loss, last season.  An Honorable Mention All-Pioneer Football League selection as a junior, he had 2.5 quarterback sacks.

Treadaway, a fifth-year senior defensive back, missed the 2010 season due to injury.  He had 51 tackles in 2009 while recovering a pair of fumbles, and broke up four passes.

“Laurence showed tremendous leadership ability last winter and spring,” Carlson stated.  “I could see he was a player that his teammates responded to.  Unfortunately, he hurt his knee over the summer and was lost for the 2010 season.  That left a big hole in leadership for our defense and our team.”

Velez, a senior offensive lineman, was a starter at center for the Brown and Gold last season.  Earning Honorable Mention All-PFL honors, he was also the team’s long snapper.

“Both Grant and Ferdy were game captains for numerous contests last year,” Carlson added.  “I challenged both of them to step up their leadership this winter and they responded.”

Valparaiso will kick off the 2011 season on September 3, hosting Franklin at Brown Field in a 7 p.m. kickoff.