Peters Named Finalist For Karl Malone Award
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Peters Named Finalist For Karl Malone Award

Valparaiso University senior Alec Peters (Washington, Ill./Washington) has been named as one of the 10 finalists on the watch list for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday.

In its third season, the Karl Malone Award recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

Peters earned his spot among the finalists on the watch list with his strong senior season to date. Peters ranks second nationally in scoring (23.9 ppg) and seventh in rebounding (11.0 rpg), the only player to rank among the top-10 nationally in both categories. He also has posted 15 double-doubles, fifth-most in the nation, and also sits within the top-10 in both field goals made (ninth) and free throws made (fifth).

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2017 Karl Malone Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date. Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

Peters is one of just two players among the 10 watch list finalists from outside the Power Five conferences, and is the only representative outside of the Power Five conferences and the American Athletic Conference.