Valpo Men Move Into Sixth on Day Two at Calvin
Friday, December 2, 2011
Valpo Men Move Into Sixth on Day Two at Calvin
Tate Wegehaupt finished sixth on Friday in the 100 breaststroke. (Steve Booth)

Valparaiso’s men’s swim team moved up one spot in the team standings on Friday and currently sit in sixth place heading into the final day of competition at the Calvin Winter Invitational held at the Venema Aquatic Center in Grand Rapids, Mich.

The Crusaders have tallied 109 points through the first 11 events, 16 more than seventh place Alma.  The Crusaders are 89 points in back of fifth place Wabash while Grand Valley State leads the competition with 651.5 points.

Valpo turned in an eighth place effort in the 200 freestyle relay to begin the day.  The quartet of Tate Wegehaupt (Tigard, Ore./Tigard H.S.), Austin Hunter (La Crescent, Minn./La Crescent H.S.), Kyle Braun (McHenry, Ill./West H.S.), and Phil May (Noblesville, Ind./Noblesville H.S.) posted a time of 1:28.20.

Wegehaupt added a sixth place mark individually for the Brown and Gold with a mark of 58.35 seconds in the 100 breaststroke.  The time is the second fastest all-time in the event in Valparaiso history.

Braun and Hunter led the way for Valpo in the 50 freestyle, finishing 13th and 14th respectively.   Braun turned in a finals time of 22.10 seconds while Hunter finished in 22.29 seconds.  Braun also won the bonus consolation flight of the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:49.56, a collegiate best for the freshman. 

Russell Deghi (Sebestopol, Calif./Analy H.S.) led the Crusaders in the 100 backstroke with a time of 56.46 seconds, his best time of the season.  He finished 0.05 seconds ahead of teammate Matt King (Clinton, Ill./Clinton H.S.).

Steve Booth (Saint Joseph, Mich./Saint Joseph H.S.) paced Valpo in the 200 butterfly, posting a time of 2:14.14, a career best.

The 400 medley relay saw the Crusaders finish with a 10th place showing.  King, Wegehaupt, Hunter, and Braun turned a time of 3:37.46. 

Valparaiso will conclude the competition on Saturday with preliminary heats beginning at 9 a.m. CST and the finals slated for 5 p.m. CST.